A Pokémon announcement is scheduled for today

The Pokémon Company has confirmed that a special Pokémon announcement will be taking place. A press conference is scheduled to be held today in Japan.

Serebii.net confirmed that press conference which will take place at 10am JST, 11 am AEST, 02:00 BST / 01:00 UTC / May 29th 21:00 EDT / 18:00 PDT.

The press conference was also announced on Twitter.

Pokémon Switch announcement

While it’s no yet clear what the press conference is about, it seems likely that Pokémon for Nintendo Switch will be revealed.

Will the rumours about Pokémon Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee prove to be true?

Time will tell.

Pokémon Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee are the rumoured Pokémon titles for Nintendo Switch. Both were leaked thanks to images and insider sources, though the veracity of the rumours hasn’t been proven.

What is interesting is, in recent days, there has been speculation that an announcement would be happening today. As it stands, it looks as though that speculation was correct.

As for what a Pokémon Switch announcement might contain, its anybody’s guess.

Nintendo insider Emily Rogers wrote;

In July 2016, Pokémon Go launched, and became a massive phenomenon, having been downloaded more than 500 million times worldwide by the end of that year. Then, by 2017, overall download numbers increased to over 750 million a year.

This all leads to a much bigger question: What lessons should Game Freak and Nintendo learn from Pokémon Go’s success? How could Switch benefit from Pokémon Go’s success, and how could Pokémon Go benefit from Switch’s success?

Stay tuned.

Leo Stevenson
Leo Stevensonhttps://powerup-gaming.com/
I've been playing games for the past 27 years and have been writing for almost as long. Combining two passions in the way I'm able is a true privilege. PowerUp! is a labour of love and one I am so excited to share.

━ more like this

Advantages of using smartphones while playing online games

Mobile devices are everywhere. If you think it's a bold statement, perhaps you should think twice! After all, we bet you're reading this article...

Rumour: Diablo IV release date; June 5 2023

It looks as though the release date for Diablo IV has been revealed. According to the ALumia_Italia Twitter, which shares updates from Xbox store...

Snoop Dogg, Death Row Records and Stevenson Ranch have a 5-piece capsule collection coming this month

In the ultimate blend of country and hip-hop, Stevenson Ranch has announced it is teaming up with Snoop Dogg and Death Row Records. Celebrating...

Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed is getting new content throughout 2023

Have you played Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleased? If not, go play it right now. What the hell are you doing? Developed by Illfonic, Ghostbusters: Spirits...

Phil Spencer announces Microsoft will bring Call of Duty to Nintendo and Steam for 10-years

The ongoing saga of the merger of Microsoft and Activision Blizzard King continues today with Head of Xbox Phil Spencer taking to Twitter to...