What skills and abilities can you unlock in Jedi Fallen Order?

The long wait is over. You can finally play Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order and see the fruits of Respawn’s labour. You can read our extensive review here and see what our resident Star Wars expert, James, thought of the game. Fallen Order tells the story of Cal Kestis, a Padawan hiding from the Empire in the wake of Order 66.

The game takes place across a number of planets in the Star Wars canon and features Dark Souls-lite combat, Uncharted and Tomb Raider style exploration and some light Metroidvania mechanics.

Billed as being The Force Unleasedwithout the Mountain Dew moments,” Jedi Fallen Order is more restrained when it comes to its depiction of the Force and its power. Early in the game, Cal’s connection to the Force is damaged by what he’s been through as a Padawan, so he’s without many of his abilities.

Over the game, you collect new Force Powers and grow as a Jedi. In addition to your Force Powers, Cal also has a fully upgradable and unlockable Skill Tree.

Jedi Fallen Order

Early in the game, the Skill Tree is quite limited. As Cal earns new powers and reconnects with the Force, he unlocks additional skills and abilities. Many of these skills and abilities are upgrades for Force Powers. However, some skills and abilities can only be learned from the Skill Tree.

Unlocking skills costs Skill Points. Skill Points are gradually earned by defeating enemies. As you defeat enemies, you fill the XP bar and when it’s full, you are awarded one Skill Point.

If you die, you don’t lose your accrued Skill Points. You only lose your progression to the next Skill Point. To recover your XP you only have to damage the enemy that killed you.

The Skills you unlock and their costs are;

  • Overhead Slash – A Powerful Strike – 1 Skill Point
    • Leaping Slash – Adds a second attack after Overhead Slash – 2 Skill Points
    • Whirlwind Throw – Throw the double-bladed saber around Cal – 2 Skill Points
  • Force Attunement – Maximum Force increased – 1 Skill Point
    • Greater Force Attunement – Increase maximum Force – 1 Skill Point
    • Ultimate Force Attunement – Increase maximum Force – 2 Skill Points
  • Survival Skills – Maximum Life Increased – 1 Skill Point
    • Enhanced Survival Skills – Maximum Life Increased – 1Skill Point
    • Expert Survival Skills – Maximum Life Increased – 2 Skill Points
  • Mass Push – Hold Push to Push Groups – 1 Skill Point
    • Howling Push – Send Groups of Enemies Flying – 2 Skill Points
  • Dash Strike – Dash and Attack – 1 Skill Point
    • Improved Dash – Greater Distance for Dash Strike – 1 Skill Point
  • Delay Thrust – Wait to press attack again to perform a combo – 1 Skill Point
    • Delay Combo – Wait to press attack again to perform a combo – 1 Skill Point
    • Switch Attack – Perform a special attack while switching saber types – 1 Skill Point
  • Precision Evade – Evade with correct timing to slow enemies and regain Force – 2 Skill Points
  • Improved Stims – Recover Additional Life from Stims – 1 Skill Point
    • Personalized Stims – Recover additional Life when using Stims – 2 Skill Points
  • Superior Blocking – Improved Defenses – 1 Skill Point
  • Repulse – Ground Pound – 2 Skill Points
  • Enhanced Force Recovery – Regain Force when defeating enemies – 1 Skill Point
  • Empowered Slow – Hold Slow to Slow targets for longer – 1 Skill Point
    • Burst Slow – Slow all targets in an AOE – 2 Skill Points
  • Agile Deflection – Automatically block blaster bolts when sprinting and wall-running – 1 Skill Point
  • Evasive Kick – Attack after quick evade to kick – 1 Skill Point
  • Sprint Strike – Attacking while sprinting performs a special attack – 1 Skill Point
  • Lightsaber Mastery – Increased Damage – 3 Skill Points
  • Lightsaber Throw – Throw the lightsaber – 3 Skill Points
    • Power Throw – Throw the saber further – 2 Skill Points
  • Grasping Pull – Pull and hold enemies – 1 Skill Point
    • Howling Pull – Pull all enemies in an AOE – 2 Skill Points
  • The Power of Friendship – Stims refill the Force Meter – 3 Skill Points

All up, it will cost 50 Skill Points to fully upgrade Cal and unlock every skill in the game. Most of these you’ll be able to acquire just by playing, though there are some locations where you can farm enemies for additional XP.

Jedi Fallen Order is available now on PC, PS4 and Xbox One.

Leo Stevenson
Leo Stevensonhttps://powerup-gaming.com/
I've been playing games for the past 27 years and have been writing for almost as long. Combining two passions in the way I'm able is a true privilege. PowerUp! is a labour of love and one I am so excited to share.

━ more like this

HyperX ProCast Large Diaphragm Condenser Mic Review

The HyperX ProCast is easily one of our favorite XLR microphones with great sound and easy setup but it really should have just been a USB microphone.

LEGO 2K Drive is an open-world racing game coming May 2023

One of the worst-kept secrets of late is now out in the open. Today, 2K, Visual Concepts and LEGO have announced LEGO 2K Drive....

Little Friends: Puppy Island is headed to Switch this year

Developer Big Blue Bubble and publisher Fireshine Games have announced Little Friends: Puppy Island is headed to Nintendo Switch this year. The latest game...

The top 10 saddest deaths in gaming

Video games have come a long way as an art form since Pong and Pacman. Modern games feature gripping, emotional stories and star characters...

Bendy and The Dark Revival – Interview with voice actor Ally Murphy

You don’t have to have entered the Bendy world to recognise it. Its ink-heavy, 1950s cartoon-style art is as eye-catching as it is unique. Bendy...