The Overwatch League Postseason 2019 kicks off this weekend

Regular-season play for the Overwatch League wrapped up this week in front of an excited crowd at the Kit Kat Rivalry Weekend at the Novo Theater in Los Angeles. With regular-season play done and dusted, the top 12 teams qualify for Overwatch League Postseason 2019.

The Postseason begins on August 31 with a ‘play-in’ tournament. According to Blizzard, “Teams that finished seventh through twelfth in the standings will play in a bracket-style single-elimination competition, with the final two teams joining the league’s top six teams in an eight-team double-elimination bracket.”

What makes this Overwatch League Postseason even more exciting is that it will see the introduction of Sigma and Patch 1.39.

Overwatch League Postseason 2019

On Friday, September 6, 2019, the double-elimination bracket will begin and will finish on Monday, September 30, 2019.

The final two teams will compete at the 2019 Grand Finals in Philadelphia at the Wells Fargo Center. Whichever team is victorious will take away $1.1 million USD and the runner-up will win $600,000 USD.

Nate Nanzer, Overwatch League Commissioner said of Philadelphia hosting the Overwatch League Grand Final;

Philadelphia is a legendary sports town with amazing fans and the Wells Fargo Center is the perfect venue to crown our next champion.

The 2018 Grand Finals in Brooklyn was epic but we’re looking to up the ante for our season finale in Philly. We have 20 teams in the League now, so the path to the championship is going to be extremely competitive and very entertaining.

In addition to the news that the event will be hosted at the Wells Fargo Center, Blizzard has revealed that the Grand Final will also be broadcast in the US on ABC. Fans will be able to tune into the Grand Final on Twitch, the ESPN app, and the Overwatch League app.

Other regions broadcasting the Grand Final include Canada (TSN), China (Zhanqi, NetEase CC, Bilibili and Huya) France (Mediawan), Germany (Sport1), and Russia (E Terra TV).

The ABC broadcast will take place from 5:00 – 8:00 a.m. AEST / 7:00 – 10:00 a.m. NZST, 30 September.

Who are you rooting for?

Leo Stevenson
Leo Stevenson
I've been playing games for the past 27 years and have been writing for almost as long. Combining two passions in the way I'm able is a true privilege. PowerUp! is a labour of love and one I am so excited to share.

━ more like this

Elgato Wave DX Dynamic Microphone Review

Elgato's newest microphone is aimed at professionals wanting the best audio quality but it requires a lot more investment just to get it working.

Dead Island 2 showcase airing this week

Deep Silver and Dambuster Studios have announced a special Dead Island 2 showcase coming this week. 'Another Night in HELL-A' will stream on Wednesday,...

Wargaming, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Milla Jovovich team up to bring players Holiday Ops 2023

As part of this year's World of Tanks Holiday Ops, Wargaming, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Milla Jovovich have teamed up. Bringing special holiday-themed content to...

BINGE has launched on Xbox

BINGE, the streaming home of HBO (and much more) in Australia has announced today that it is now available on Xbox platforms. Right now,...

Prime Video has dropped the first video for The Boys spinoff Gen V

Prime Video has given a first look at the upcoming The Boys spinoff series, Gen V. Set at "America’s only college exclusively for young...