Changes coming to Overwatch League in Stage 2 announced

Blizzard and the Overwatch League have announced some minor changes to Stage 2 of the competition. The Overwatch League Stage 2 changes relate to the scheduling of matches.

In order to prevent player and viewer fatigue the first of the Overwatch League Stage 2 changes places all Stage Finals on the Sunday 1pm PST (Monday 8am AEDT).

Other Overwatch League Stage 2 changes being implemented are as follows;

  • Weekday matches now all start at 4 p.m. PST (Tuesday to Saturday matches now all start at 11am AEDT / 1pm NZDT
  • Saturday matches now start at 1 p.m. PST (Sunday matches now start at 8am AEDT / 10am NZDT)

Overwatch League Stage 2 Changes

The changes are being made following feedback from the community.

The Overwatch League prides itself on listening to the community. And we know that having an iterative approach is vital in order to make the league experience as enjoyable as possible for players, teams, and fans

The winners of the Stage 1 finals were the London Spitfire who managed to defeat the New York Excelsior who were the top seed,

In Stage 1, the Shanghai Dragons were unfortunately unable to even win a single game. The organisation announced today that it was adding four new players to its roster, including Geguri; the world’s best Zarya.

Current Overwatch League Standings

The current League standings can be found below.

OIV MP W L MAP W-L-T OIFF
New York Excelsior ATL 10 9 1 31-10-2 +21
Houston Outlaws ATL 10 7 3 30-13-0 +17
London Spitfire ATL 10 7 3 29-14-0 +15
Los Angeles Valiant PAC 10 7 3 26-13-3 +13
Seoul Dynasty PAC 10 7 3 25-16-2 +9
Boston Uprising ATL 10 6 4 27-17-0 +10
Philadelphia Fusion ATL 10 6 4 20-24-1 -4
Los Angeles Gladiators PAC 10 4 6 16-26-0 -10
San Francisco Shock PAC 10 3 7 16-24-2 -8
Dallas Fuel PAC 10 3 7 14-25-3 11
Florida Mayhem ATL 10 1 9 9-31-1 -22
Shanghai Dragons PAC 10 0 10 6-36-0 -30

The Overwatch League will return on February 21 at 4pm PST (February 22 at 11am AEDT/1pm NZDT).

Related articles

Leo Stevensonhttps://powerup-gaming.com/
I've been playing games for the past 27 years and have been writing for almost as long. Combining two passions in the way I'm able is a true privilege. PowerUp! is a labour of love and one I am so excited to share.

Share article