Vancouver Titans and San Francisco Shock are headed to Philadelphia for the Overwatch League Grand Final

With the Overwatch League 2019 playoffs done and dusted, the two top teams have emerged. The Vancouver Titans and San Francisco Shock will face off at the Grand Final to be held in Philadelphia on September 29. The League Champion will be crowned at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia where the final two teams will compete for the championship.

The qualifying teams will fight for the Overwatch League trophy and a share of $1.7 million USD.

Whichever team is victorious will take away $1.1 million USD and the runner-up will win $600,000 USD.

Overwatch League Grand Final

2019-09-15 – Overwatch League 2019 Season / Photo: Robert Paul for Blizzard Entertainment

Vancouver is the top-seeded team and came out of the upper bracket victorious having beaten both Seoul Dynasty and Los Angeles Gladiators before facing off against New York Excelsior to claim its finals spot.

New York was the Atlantic Division’s champion but was unable to stop Vancouver.

San Francisco was beaten by Atlanta Reign in a shock (no pun intended) upset but came back to beat defending champion London Spitfire, Gladiators, Hangzhou Spark and Excelsior in the lower bracket. Each match in the lower bracket was a sweep in favour of the Shock; 4-0.

The Overwatch League Grand Final is another chance for Vancouver and San Francisco to face off having already competed in Stage 1 and Stage 2 finals earlier in the season. The Titans won Stage 1 and the Shock won Stage 2.

The competition at the Wells Fargo Center is sure to be fierce as both teams will be hungry for the win. “Both teams feature star damage players. San Francisco is led by regular season MVP Jay “Sinatraa” Won, while Vancouver matches Sinatraa with 2019 Rookie of the Year Hyo-Jong “Haksal” Kim,” said Blizzard.

Already sold out, the Grand Final at the Wells Fargo Center will be held on September 29. It will be streamed on Twitch to 190 countries and will also be shown at the Overwatch League website and on the app.

Other regions broadcasting the Grand Final include Canada (TSN), China (Zhanqi, NetEase CC, Bilibili and Huya) France (Mediawan), Germany (Sport1), and Russia (E Terra TV).

The ABC broadcast will take place from 5:00 – 8:00 a.m. AEST / 7:00 – 10:00 a.m. NZST, 30 September.

Leo Stevenson
Leo Stevenson
I've been playing games for the past 27 years and have been writing for almost as long. Combining two passions in the way I'm able is a true privilege. PowerUp! is a labour of love and one I am so excited to share.

━ more like this

Street Fighter 6 Review (PS5) – Fight, Fight, Fight 

Street Fighter 6 has it all. Graphics, new mechanics, the hub, characters and incredible fighting. While not as fast-paced as Street Fighter V, Street...

You can win a $10,000 Company of Heroes 3 diorama to celebrate its launch on console

Company of Heroes 3 is available today on PS5 and Xbox Series X. To celebrate the console launch of the RTS, Five Star Games...

Company Of Heroes 3 Review (Xbox Series X) -War Were Declared (Again)

This is a review of Company of Heroes 3 on PC with additional information regarding the console version. My RTS career begins and ends with...

System Shock (PC) Review – Old Priorities, New Conclusions

On a macro level, System Shock (2023) retains the bones of the 1994 original. This isn’t all that surprising given that System Shock (1994)...

MSI MEG Trident X2 13th Review – Over the top

MSI unleashes a monstrous machine shrouded in an elegant industrial design but it costs as much as a small car.