Meet the Hearthstone Grandmasters for the Asia Pacific Region

Blizzard has today announced the Hearthstone Grandmasters for the Asia Pacific region. The recently announced and new three-tiered Hearthstone Masters esports competition. The top tier of that competition is the Hearthstone Grandmasters. 

Described by Blizzard as “the pinnacle of Hearthstone esports,” Season One of the Hearthstone Grandmasters kicks off on May 17. Ahead of the season, Blizzard has shared details of the Hearthstone Grandmasters from the Asia Pacific region.

These are the players that have shown their skill and talent and have been invited to join the Grandmasters. Invitations are based on a number of things including;

  • Lifetime Earnings
  • Points Earned During HCT 2018
  • Seasonal Points Leaders
  • Contributions to the Hearthstone Community and more

Hearthstone Grandmasters Asia Pacific

Of the 16 Asia Pacific Grandmasters, one hails from Australia and one from New Zealand. Let’s meet those two.

Pathra “Pathra” Cadness – New Zealand

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”198″ display=”basic_slideshow” gallery_width=”1140″ arrows=”1″ show_thumbnail_link=”0″]

Pathra was born a Disney-obsessed kid in the Philippines, which led her to secure a degree in Animation before becoming a fulltime streamer. Pathra placed third at the WSOE2, won the 2017 BlizzCon Invitational, and represented New Zealand in the Hearthstone Global Games in both 2017 and 2018.

Dylan “FroStee” O’Mallon – Australia

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”199″ display=”basic_slideshow” gallery_width=”1140″ arrows=”1″ show_thumbnail_link=”0″]

24-year-old FroStee is a martial arts instructor with a 3rd-degree black belt. Grandmasters is the culmination of years of hard work for FroStee, who has fallen just short of exceptional placements a handful of times, making him hungry to demonstrate his true skills on the world stage.

The 14 remaining Grandmasters are;

  • Ng “Blitzchung” Wai Chung – Hong Kong
  • Wu “BloodTrail” Zong-Chang – Taiwan
  • Tsao “SamuelTsao” Tsu Lin – Taiwan
  • Liu “Shaxy” Wei-Chieh – Taiwan
  • Chen “tom60229” Wei Lin – Taiwan
  • Kim “che0nsu” Cheon Su – South Korea
  • Jang “Dawn” Hyun Jae – South Korea
  • Cho “Flurry” Hyun Soo – South Korea
  • Dasol “Ryvius” Sim – South Korea
  • Kim “Surrender” Jung-soo – South Korea
  • Kenta “glory” Sato – Japan
  • Yashima “Alutemu” Nozomi – Japan
  • Euneil “Staz” Javiñas – Philippines
  • Tyler ‘Tyler’ Hoang Nguyen – Vietnam

For more details on all of the Grandmasters, head to the Blizzard post.

Related articles

Leo Stevenson
I've been playing games for the past 27 years and have been writing for almost as long. Combining two passions in the way I'm able is a true privilege. PowerUp! is a labour of love and one I am so excited to share.

Share article